WIP: Illuminated Manuscript

Been working on a little drawing/illustration thing at home recently (which will eventually be published in a book out later this year). Here are the early stages of an illuminated medieval manuscript, a mock up “book cover” for The Canterbury Tales by Chaucer…

Isabel Eeles WIP Canterbury Tales

It was a bit risky, I’ve never done anything like this before but I had the opportunity to get get my pencils and paints out again so thought why not, any excuse to get back to using my hands I should take. It wasn’t hugely pre-planned, I new what size it needed to be and what it needed to say but that was it, the rest was up to me. I took inspiration from other artworks made around the 1500s and took it from there, picking out details and flourishes I liked and thought worked well together, planning all the little twists and turns and interlocking elements/loop-the-loops was fiddly but essential – the more complicated the better!

WIP: Illuminated Manuscript

Leave a Reply

