Crit

Yesterday we had a class crit on the ‘what if…’ brief. I honestly wasn’t sure about going because I felt I didn’t have enough work to show and ideas to discuss, I wasn’t confident with what I’d done… but I was wrong and the response was positive, not sure I really deserved that but am so glad I made it in!

Also I really enjoy the crits these days, I never used to (in 1st year), I do of course still get nervous beforehand – you never know how your work/idea is going to go down – but as long as everyone is involved, there’s a good atmosphere and an interested in contributing, suggesting, disagreeing then its a great experience!

For the first time, our tutor suggested that someone else in the group took down notes for the person presenting and it was a great idea since normally don’t have time to TALK & LISTEN & WRITE down & remember everything that’s suggested at the same time!

my feedback…

  • Seems I have a good starting point.
  • I was questioning my end point/final conclusion to the ‘experiments’ but it was said maybe its impossible to reach but that it’s not something to worry about since something will come out of it and in is own time (plus we were told the journey is the most important part…)
  • Ideas of beauty rather than ‘what is beauty’ might be better. I agree.
  • Was suggested to try doing an online survey to get more replies and then better results for an analysis in general.

  • I should keep the shapes and experiments simple to begin with. Do the most primative test first and thoroughly.
  • I was told the more complex the thing becomes the less it will tell you. Use/do the primary elements, shapes, colours etc… first and then combine them later.

  • The book ‘Understanding Comics – The Invisible Art’ was as suggested as a good reading reference.

  • There was talk about how to put the idea/forms/shapes… into a context. Without one I don’t think there can be a conclusion, I need something to compare and contrast with, I’m still a little unclear about the context to choose/try…
  • Was suggested to put the forms in different settings, does the answer change? I should try to show how the context, of say the circle/square, influences the decision.
  • Is the response influenced by the surroundings – David was keen for me to get out there in a space, hold a piece of paper with a shape on it and ask people there their opinions, then do the same in a different space and compare… how does the space around the form influence the choice, and would there be a difference in opinions between the city and country??
  • Joseph Kosuth and his One and Three Chairs was mentioned as a possible reference and path to explore. The idea about what is it actually they are thinking/choosing when they decide on the most beautiful, is it how it looks, is it its name or is it its associations etc…

  • The idea of using text/words (letter forms) as the form– so what if it was the word ‘Circle’ and ‘Square’ not the shape, what would people choose then as being more beautiful, why and how?!? Love it, I worry this will take me off somewhere completely different…
  • Andrew suggested a way to try to relate it back to the idea of man-made vs natural – so a natural circle form vs man made circle form, man made circle vs man made square etc and how they influence people’s choice.

I’m keen to reach this sort of point as I think it is what I was initially interested in, but I feel need to get past the basics first if I want any hope of understanding something so complex (too many connections and variations!)

Crit

2 thoughts on “Crit

  1. Not sure if you get ‘pingback’ but I thought I’d let you know I discussed some of your experiments here (http://adriadavidson.com/blog/?p=54). I really like where your ‘what if’ are going and I love the crossovers it shares with my dissertation/ investigations, especially since we have such different topics. I wouldn’t worry about getting too far removed for where you started from or things get a bit over your head. I’d personally would like it go a bit more crazy before you making any attempt at reining it in. (: What can I say I enjoy chaos. I certainly agree that the most complex things don’t often tell you the most and tend to find the simplest questions the hardest. They are a bit like poetry, in that the questions themselves often allow for many different interpertations.

    I thought the idea about the setting being a major influencing factor quite interesting. It may all come down to one’s own peception but I bet there might be a bit of a collective perspective that could be generated.

Leave a Reply

